On June 18, 2018 the Council of the European Union extended restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol by Russia until June 23, 2019,” reads the EU statement. These measures apply to individuals and companies from the EU and are limited to the territory of the Crimea and Sevastopol. The sanctions, in particular, include prohibitions on:

a) import of products from the Crimea or Sevastopol to the EU;

b) investments in the Crimea or Sevastopol;

c) tourist services in the Crimea or Sevastopol, in particular, European cruise ships cannot enter the ports on the Crimean peninsula, except emergency situations;

d) export of certain goods and technologies to Crimean companies or for use in the Crimea in the transport, telecommunications and energy sectors as well as those related to the exploration and production of oil, gas and mineral resources.

The EU also banned technical assistance, intermediary, construction or engineering services related to infrastructure in these sectors.